Quick Answer: The Inada DreamWave is a Japanese-built chair with a rocking seat that very few chairs copy, but in November 2026 you canât buy one new in the US. Massage Chair Heaven lists it as discontinued and no longer in stock, and Inada USAâs website no longer exists. A used one is only worth buying if itâs the 2014 model HCP-11001A, the price reflects no transferable warranty, and you can find a local technician. For a new chair, look at the JPMedics Kumo ($10,999.99), the D.Core 2 ($14,999.99) or the Osaki OS-Highpointe 4D ($4,999).
This site has named the DreamWave as a current Family Inada chair in two guides, the best Family Inada ranking and the best Japanese massage chair roundup. It never had a review of its own. So on November 5, 2026 we read whatâs still published about it: Family Inadaâs DreamWave ownerâs manual (models HCP-11001A and HCP-11001D), Inada USAâs 2014 brochure, the August 2014 launch press release, archived copies of Inada USAâs website and warranty, and the dealer listings that still exist. We didnât sit in a DreamWave. Every figure below comes from those documents, and where they disagree, we say so. The short version: the chair is real and well documented, but the US network that sold and serviced it is gone.
By the numbers:
- 1.6 inches each side of center: how far the seat rocks during the DreamWave motion, at about 11 to 24 cycles a minute, per the ownerâs manual.
- 16 preset sessions, up from 8 on the older Sogno DreamWave, per Inada USAâs August 4, 2014 press release. Thatâs 8 programs, each with a Deep Relaxation version.
- 2,500 hours of continuous operation with load is the endurance rating in Inada USAâs brochure. The brochure turns that into âmore than 24 yearsâ at once a day, which only works out at about 17 minutes a day.
- 6 years: how long the manual says Family Inada stocks service parts (fabric excluded) after it stops making a model.
Inada DreamWave (HCP-11001A)
- Signature DreamWave seat motion: the seat rocks about 1.6 inches either side of center, which Inada USA calls an "undulating figure-8 motion".
- 4-roller "seesaw" back mechanism with a 28-inch stroke, 3 roller widths and an "ultra-slow" kneading mode, plus an optical Shiatsu Point Locator scan before each program.
- About 100 air cells for neck, shoulders, full arms and hands, seat, calves and feet, and a Shugi neck-and-shoulder pull that lifts the neck before pressing down.
- Seat and lower-back heat (outer cover held to 102°F or less, 2-hour shutoff), 8 presets with Deep Relaxation versions, 15 manual massage types and a Youth program.
- 120 V, 208 W; 37" wide, 55" deep upright, 83" reclined; about 253 lbs in three pieces (owner's manual).
Is the Inada DreamWave still sold in 2026?
Not new, and not through any channel we could confirm. Hereâs the trail, oldest first.
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1962 | Family Inada founded in Osaka by Nichimu Inada, credited with the first automatic shiatsu massage chair | Inada USA brochure (2014) |
| 2001 | TIME names the Inada H.9 chair one of its Best Inventions of 2001; it scanned for about 350 acupressure points and cost $3,500 | TIME, Best Inventions of 2001 |
| 2009 to 2010 | Inada collects CES Design and Engineering Showcase Awards in 2009 and 2010 and an ASFD Pinnacle Award finalist spot in 2009; the brochure credits the DreamWave design with CES and ASFD recognition | Inada USA brochure |
| August 4, 2014 | Inada USA launches the "new DreamWave" (HCP-11001A), dropping "Sogno" from the name and listing more than 25 changes | Inada USA press release, PR Newswire |
| May 2020 | Inada warranty now administered by FFL Brands, Boulder, Colorado: 3 years, on-site service, original purchaser only | Archived inadausa.com warranty page |
| Early 2021 | Inada USA's lineup lists only the Sogno (HCP-10001A1) and the Nest; "DreamWave" is on neither the lineup nor the discontinued-models page | Archived inadausa.com, January and March 2021 |
| January 2022 | inadausa.com shows an unrelated massage chair review blog | Archived inadausa.com |
| November 5, 2026 | inadausa.com doesn't resolve; familyinada.com redirects to a parked for-sale page; Massage Chair Heaven tags the DreamWave "discontinued" and says it's no longer in stock | Checked November 5, 2026 |
Massage Chair Heavenâs DreamWave page is worth reading closely if you find it. It still shows $11,999 in black, cream and dark brown, with a âcompare atâ price of $7,999 thatâs lower than the price itself. The warranty paragraph on the same page describes âthe standard Osaki Warrantyâ, which looks copied from another listing. The page says twice that the chair is discontinued and points shoppers to a different Japanese chair instead. Treat the $11,999 as a leftover number, not an offer, and call before you pay anything.
The newer Inada Robo isnât a way around this. Massage Chair Heaven lists it as discontinued too, sold as a âlightly-used showroom unitâ at $11,999 with a 2-year parts-only warranty and âSALE IS FINAL. NO RETURN ALLOWEDâ. Both colors were marked unavailable on November 5, 2026. The dealerâs own copy says parts availability is âlimited due to discontinuationâ, and that a failure inside the 2 years gets an Osaki chair as the replacement, not a repair.
Spec sheet, from Inadaâs own documents
The ownerâs manual and the 2014 brochure donât agree on every number. Where they differ, both figures are below.
| Spec | What the documents say | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Model number | HCP-11001A (120 V, US); HCP-11001D (220 to 240 V) | Owner's manual |
| Power | 208 W total; the heater alone draws 5 W | Owner's manual |
| Size upright | 37" W x 55" D x 48" H (38" wide with armrests fully out) | Owner's manual and brochure |
| Size reclined | 83" D x 30" H | Owner's manual and brochure |
| Clearance | 26" behind, 16" in front | Owner's manual |
| Weight | About 253 lbs (165 lb chair + two 24 lb armrests + 40 lb leg rest) in the manual; 265 lbs net and 313 lbs boxed in the brochure | The two documents disagree |
| User height | 5'0" to 6'5" in the brochure; Massage Chair Heaven's listing says 4'10" to 6'8" | Brochure vs dealer |
| User weight limit | None published; Inada USA's 2021 Sogno page said "If you can fit, you can sit" | Archived inadausa.com |
| Recline | About 120° to 165° from the floor in the manual; "170°" max in the brochure | The two documents disagree |
| Back rollers | 4-roller seesaw unit, 28" stroke (28.4" in the brochure), 3 widths; kneading 9 to 32 times a minute, tapping 190 to 480 | Owner's manual |
| Air system | About 100 air cells, about 38 kPa air pressure | Brochure and manual |
| Motors | 13 in the brochure; Massage Chair Heaven's copy mentions "six motors" | Brochure vs dealer |
| Programs | 8 presets (4 Healthcare, 4 Well-Being), each with a Deep Relaxation version, 15 manual types | Owner's manual |
| Timer | About 15 minutes per program; 30-minute rated time | Owner's manual |
| Heat | Seat and lower back; cover 102°F or less at 77°F room temperature; 2-hour auto-off | Owner's manual |
| Upholstery | Synthetic leather with antibacterial, dirt-resistant finish (brochure also lists a TruBlack Leather version) | Owner's manual and brochure |
| Design | Designed by Toshiyuki Kita; massage choreographed by Hideyo Matsuura | Brochure |
One correction for this site: our Family Inada guide said Toshiyuki Kita was also âbehind the original 1962-lineage Shugi kneading mechanismâ. The brochure doesnât say that. It credits Kita with the chairâs design and Hideyo Matsuura with the massage choreography. That guide has been corrected.
What the DreamWave actually does differently
Most chairs push rollers up and down your back and squeeze your legs with air. The DreamWave does that too, but three features set it apart on paper.
The rocking seat. In the DreamWave program, the seat sways side to side, about 1.6 inches each way. Inada pitches it as a motion that relaxes the hips and spine. Few chairs at any price have anything like it, and itâs the reason owners still look for this model by name.
The neck pull. Inada calls it the Shiatsu Pull-Kneading Air System, or âShugiâ. The headpiece lifts the neck from both sides, then air pads press down on it. There are also rollers under the headpiece for a firmer neck massage, according to the dealerâs description.
The full-arm unit. Massage Chair Heavenâs listing describes 20 air cells working the upper arm, forearm and fingertips, in a unit that moves sideways to fit your frame.
The 8 preset programs, from the manual:
| Program | Group | What the manual says it's for |
|---|---|---|
| Full Body | Healthcare | Fatigue or lack of energy |
| Full Body Air | Healthcare | A softer, air-focused massage |
| Youth | Healthcare | Low stimulation, for children 14 or older with an adult present, one session a day |
| Quick | Healthcare | A short full-body refresh |
| Morning | Well-Being | A bad morning or leftover fatigue |
| Night | Well-Being | Before bed |
| Stretch | Well-Being | Curving and twisting stretches |
| DreamWave | Well-Being | Relaxation, with the rocking seat |
Hold a program button for 2 seconds to get its Deep Relaxation version, which is how Inada counts 16 sessions. The manual is conservative about use: it asks you to keep sessions to about 15 minutes, no more than 5 minutes on one area, and about 30 minutes a day in total.
Sogno DreamWave, DreamWave or âSognoâ? Check the label
Used listings mix up the Sogno and DreamWave names. They arenât the same chair, so read the model number on the label before you agree a price.
| Name on the listing | Model number | Presets | Heat | Where the specs come from |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sogno DreamWave, or "Sogno" | HCP-10001A or HCP-10001A1 | 8 | Not listed; seat and lumbar heat was one of the 2014 additions | Inada USA 2014 press release; archived inadausa.com Sogno page (2021) |
| DreamWave ("new DreamWave", 2014) | HCP-11001A | 16 (8 + Deep Relaxation) | Seat and lower back | Owner's manual and brochure |
A quick test at a viewing: press the heater button. If there isnât one, or the remote only has 8 programs, youâre looking at a Sogno-generation chair, not the 2014 DreamWave.
Buying a used DreamWave: what to check
A used DreamWave can still be a good chair, but the risks are the risks of any discontinued import. Our general used massage chair guide covers the basics. These points are specific to this model.
- There is no warranty to inherit. The last Inada USA warranty on file, from 2020, covered only the original residential buyer from an authorized reseller. It said the warranty âmay not be transferred at any time during the original termâ, and floor models on display for more than nine months were excluded. Our massage chair warranty guide explains why most brands work this way.
- Parts are on a clock. The manual promises service parts for at least six years after production ends. No document we found gives the date production ended for the US market, so assume parts are getting scarce.
- Find a technician before you buy. Inada USAâs brochure promised more than 2,500 US service centers. That network belonged to a distributor whose website is gone. Ask a local massage chair repair shop whether it will work on an Inada before you pay.
- Budget for upholstery. The manual gives the roller fabric a 3-year service life at two 15-minute sessions a day and recommends a professional inspection after about five years even if nothing seems wrong.
- Plan the move. Itâs about 253 lbs, but it comes apart into a 165 lb body, two 24 lb armrests and a 40 lb leg rest. Our how to move a massage chair guide covers stairs and doorways.
- Check the space. The manual asks for 26 inches behind and 16 inches in front of its 55-inch upright depth, so plan on about 97 inches, just over 8 feet, of floor in line. Compare that against the chairs in our massage chair dimensions guide.
- Check for recalls. On November 5, 2026, the CPSC recall database returned no recall with âInadaâ in the title.
What to buy new instead
If you want a new chair with a warranty in your name, these are the closest matches, with prices checked on November 5, 2026.
| Chair | Price | Made in | Weight limit | Warranty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inada DreamWave | Discontinued (leftover $11,999 listing) | Japan | Not published | None transferable if used | Owner's manual, Massage Chair Heaven |
| D.Core 2 | $14,999.99 | Japan (per dealer) | Not stated on the listing | 5 years, including in-home service | Massage Chair Heaven |
| JPMedics Kumo | $10,999.99 | Japan (per JPMedics) | 320 lbs | 3 years in-home parts and labor | jpmedics.com |
| JPMedics Kawa | $8,499.99 | Not stated on the listing | 320 lbs | 2 years parts, 1 year labor | jpmedics.com |
| Osaki OS-Highpointe 4D | $4,999 | Not stated on the listing | 270 lbs | Free 2-year extension in the listing title | osakimassagechair.com, Osaki spec sheet |
D.Core 2
- Massage Chair Heaven's DreamWave and Robo pages both point here as the replacement, describing it as "MADE by INADA's Son"; the D.Core listing says Soschu Inada leads the D.Core brand.
- 3D+ shiatsu SL-track with 10 massage hands, Tornado-Shiatsu arm and calf rollers, foot rollers, triple heat, zero gravity, oak side panels and a touchscreen remote.
- 5-year limited warranty with in-home service per the dealer listing; the dealer's returns are 30 days for new, unused items with a 20% restocking fee.
JPMedics Kumo
- JPMedics describes it as a Japanese-made chair with a 4D roller on an L-track, zero gravity recline and reflexology foot rollers.
- Rated for 320 lbs and 5'0" to 6'3", with a 276 lb chair weight, per the JPMedics spec sheet.
- 3-year manufacturer's warranty covering in-home service, parts and labor. See our JPMedics ranking for the full lineup.
Osaki OS-Highpointe 4D
- $4,999 on Osaki's own store on November 5, 2026, with a free 2-year warranty extension in the listing title.
- Rated for 270 lbs, with a 34.5-inch minimum door width assembled, per Osaki's spec sheet. See our Osaki ranking for the rest of the range.
- No rocking seat. The DreamWave motion is the one thing none of these replacements copy directly.
For more Japanese-built options, including Panasonic and Fujiiryoki, see our best Japanese massage chair roundup.
Who should still look for a DreamWave
Look for one if youâve sat in a DreamWave and the rocking seat is what you want, if you can inspect the chair in person, if the label says HCP-11001A, and if the price assumes youâre paying for every repair yourself.
Skip it if you need a warranty, if you live far from a massage chair repair shop, if you canât move a 253 lb chair in three pieces, or if youâre comparing it with new chairs at the same price. A used chair priced like a new $10,000 chair is a bad deal when the new chair comes with three to five years of in-home service.
The bottom line
The Inada DreamWave holds up well on paper. Itâs a Japanese-built chair with a rocking seat, a full-arm air unit and a conservative, well-documented manual. But in 2026 the chair has outlived its US support: the distributorâs website is gone, the largest dealer lists it as discontinued, and the old warranty never transferred to second owners. Buy a used one only after checking the model number, the parts situation and a local technician. If you want a new chair, the JPMedics Kumo is the closest Japanese-made match at $10,999.99, the D.Core 2 is the Inada-family option at $14,999.99, and the Osaki OS-Highpointe 4D covers the basics for $4,999. Before spending that much, run the numbers in our are massage chairs worth it guide.
Sources, checked November 5, 2026: Family Inada DreamWave ownerâs manual (HCP-11001A/D) and Inada USA DreamWave brochure (2014), both hosted by Massage Chair Heaven; Massage Chair Heaven product pages for the DreamWave, Robo and D.Core 2; Inada USA press release via PR Newswire (August 4, 2014); archived inadausa.com pages (2020 to 2022, Internet Archive); TIME, Best Inventions of 2001; jpmedics.com; osakimassagechair.com; CPSC recall database.